Work in progress, #Henry #pencil #drawing #illustration #process

10.12.14 Buddha pose, scan 1

10.12.14 Buddha pose, scan 1

First session! About 2.5 hours. I’m glad I went back to Blick & picked up some Arches hot press. I’d had cold press only. The smoother surface of hot press is better if you want to start off with a careful drawing, which is what I prefer to do when going for a more finished illustration, envisioned as the completed piece.

This will be the second in the Henry series, showing him as a regal and dignified young adult. I’m not going in chronological order though, and for the “baby” period I think I’ll do a bunch of quicker, more gestural sketches.

Leave a Reply

